PDA

View Full Version : Very dumb question about buisness

Neal Winkler
07-27-2007, 05:05 PM
As someone who wants to get into the this buisness very soon, I was wondering why it's difficult to make good money, given the amount of money that people pay per hour for personal training.

If you charged $65 per hour, and had 10 clients at any one time that trained with you 2 times per week, 50 weeks a year, you'd gross 65,000 dollars. That's for only 20 working hours per week not counting the time you spend outside sessions to write programs/research their problems/whatever.

Is the answer that you'll never find 10 clients at any one time to pay you that much money?

Sorry for the stupid question, but I have no experience whatsoever with this sort of thing.

Greg Everett
07-27-2007, 05:13 PM
let's say your numbers are solid. Now, are you training at a gym or at your own facility? If you're at a gym, you're giving anywhere from 20-50% or more to the gym, which means you're down to 52,000 to 32,500 per year. If you have your own facility, you're looking at $2,000-$5,000/month for various expenses such as rent, insurance and equipment. So that brings your yearly income down to 41,000 to 5,000.

Neal Winkler
07-27-2007, 05:22 PM
Duh, I should of thought of that. Buuuuuummmmmmer...

Don Stevenson
07-28-2007, 06:59 AM
Some other considerations

1. Training 20 hours facw to face isvery draining and is about the limit for most PT's

2. Finding clients and retaining them takes a LOT of time, effort and money

3. Expenses - insurance, equipment, education vehicle costs, rent, chew up lots of income

4. Some knucklehead with a 2 week PT course under their belt always seems to be hanging around to undercut you by 50% and he public don't know thw difference between 8 weeks experience and 8 years

Nicki Violetti
07-28-2007, 07:31 AM
and then there are income taxes:)

Greg Everett
07-28-2007, 07:32 AM