PDA

View Full Version : So I was thinking about Personal Training...

Kevin Perry
08-01-2007, 03:55 PM
Well I have been pondering this for several months or perhaps a year or two but im starting to give it real serious though right now. Since starting CF a little over 2 years ago i've wanted to get certified and get a group together. Although there are no individuals here into CF that I know of or fitness in general. Now im young only 20, in college for something I enjoy ( Dbl major in Anthropology/History) but I also enjoy fitness and more than once a couple people have asked me that I should look into starting an affiliate out here. Im really interested in it although one thing bothers me. I have no idea where to start. My biggest problem is like all of you im not a fan of commercial gyms and my interests lye solely with Crossfit and Oly lifting ( and I admit my experience is only with what I have taught myself by reading CF and PM).

For the Personal Trainers out there, did you start in a similar boat? And if so can you give some of your own experiences with this? Fitness is probably the only other lifestyle that I have a passion for other than the above. Im looking into the different certification credentials out there but it is a bit much figuring out which is which.

Mike ODonnell
08-01-2007, 04:28 PM
Get a degree....get a day job....start PT on the side with income coming from somewhere else....

Otherwise be prepared to put in hours, time, sweat, blood, money, stress,.....etc....not to say it's not rewarding....just saying you can do it the hard way....or the Really hard way....