PDA

View Full Version : Huge drop in body temperature?

Jane Michel
03-25-2008, 06:14 AM
I've been doing 18-21 hour fasts for four months now and am experiencing huge drops in body temperature while fasting. People say our library is cold but they are able to study there in tshirt and shorts and perhaps a light sweater, but I am freezing in jeans, tshirt, sweater, shoes and socks even and my lips turn purple and my hands go numb. Has anyone had this kind of experience?

Further, we're at the end of summer now and I dread to think what winter will be like for me...

Garrett Smith
03-25-2008, 06:24 AM
Alicia,
I'd suggest you start shortening your fasts ASAP.

You may have undiagnosed thyroid issues that the fasting is exacerbating. Iodine deficiency could play a big role here, as well as other thyroid-necessary nutrients.

Mike ODonnell
03-25-2008, 06:25 AM
Sounds like low thyroid output. How often are your fasts? How much are you eating on the eat days? Might want to throw in a couple higher calorie days and fast less often. More is not always better remember.

Edit: Man...Dr G beat me to it by 1 minute...oh well...I just did something on the thyroid on the blog so there are factors like vitamins and mineral deficiency like Dr G mentioned. Also do you drink coffee or other caffeine products? Ditch them. What is your exercise volume? If it is too high that could be an issue as well. Coconut Oil has also been said to help with thyroid output. But like said above....the fasts are making an underlying issue worse...so less fasting and more positive things for the thyroid like plenty of protein, EFAs, vitamins A,D,B and minerals like zinc, mg, and iodine.

You can google "hypothyroidism" for plenty of info on it.

Jane Michel
03-25-2008, 07:15 AM
Whoa Dr G's post is scaring me.