PDA

View Full Version : 21 days on the zone and getting frustrated

chris adams
05-01-2008, 02:10 PM
Hey all! I'm new to the performance menu forum. I'm so glad I found it. This is great stuff and reading everyones experiences is very helpful.

However, in starting the zone I have become frustrated:mad: and could really use some advice.

I'm hungry all the time. I do not feel satisfied for any meal for more than 2 hours.

Here's some background info

31 yo M 6'2"
200 lbs at 10% BF (estimated with wrist/waist measurements)
suppose to be on 21 blocks
follow the WOD on the mainsite and will sometimes throw in an extra workout later in the day (yoga, another wod, specific skills or lifting, firefighter training)

I've stuck to strick WAM. I've kept a food journal for my entire experience.

I DL'ed 42 ways to skin the zone and tried decreasing one C block per meal and upping the F block x3. This seems to be helping my mental focus a bit but I'm still hungry all the time.

I've tried upping my fat to x2 daily requirements and this doesn't seem to help satisfy at all.

Has anyone fought this battle and do you have any suggestions? I feel good about what I'm eating. I have dropped 2%BF since starting. My performance does not seem to be overall affected neg or pos. I want to continue but I also want to feel satisfied by my meals.

Thank you very much!

Mike ODonnell
05-01-2008, 02:22 PM
I'm hungry all the time. I do not feel satisfied for any meal for more than 2 hours.

Not going to argue that the zone doesn't work...as it works great....BUT....what you listed above is one of the many reasons I can't stand it. (that and the whole OCD complex about blocks and 1/4 an apple...etc).

That being said, zone can be a great learning and starting tool on what to eat.

Many find the simple Paleo method to work below:
Meals - Meat, Veggies, Healthy Fats (or fruits in the AM)
Meals PWO - Meat/Carbs (healthy sources...aka no sugars)
Snack - Nuts/fruits (lower GI ones)