PDA

View Full Version : On the Mat and Platform

Reed Winn
10-06-2008, 01:22 PM
I lost my physical training notebook awhile ago and I spend a lot of time on the machine; so an online log makes sense. I intend for this one to be more holistic. It will include notes about both gym stuff and BJJ training. It will also include notes on diet, recovery and such.

Weight: 151.5lbs with no-gi gear on
Height: 5'6"

I've been training BJJ for about a year and 4 months.

Deadlift 1RM: 253lbs
Squat: 220lbs for a triple
Clean 1RM 150lbs
400m in 1:19
1,600m in 6:52

I just started learning the oly lifts about a month ago.

I want to get better on the mat. I am also interested in getting better at the oly lifts, getting a bigger squat and learning some ring skills. I have recently started doing CrossFit workouts and I want to integrate some metcon into my weekly training schedule.

Derek Simonds
10-06-2008, 03:25 PM
Welcome to the forum. There are quite a few BJJ players on here. I do the same thing with my log and record my workouts and BJJ training sessions. I look forward to reading your log.

Reed Winn
10-06-2008, 07:14 PM
Did at least 30 cleans with 95lbs just to work on form. I was thinking about catching with an upright posture, keeping my feet in a good stance and leaning back in the pull.

Did 5 ring supports for 30s each. Did 2 L-sits on rings for 10s each.

Rolled at 95% with people of similar weight and skill to get ready for the competition. This has given me confidence.

Thanks, Derek.

Reed Winn
10-08-2008, 07:50 PM
Pulled many cleans at 95lbs till that felt OK, then pulled some with 135. I'm having trouble catching it, I seem to often relax in the catch and dump the bar. When I tried to stay tight I ended up power cleaning it. However, with some coaching and more practice I started to do things better.