PDA

View Full Version : about crossfit met-con...

Alan O'Donnell
11-05-2008, 10:53 AM
So I have a confession. I kinda just don't like doing met-con workouts.

My question is basically how many of them I should slog through, given my athletics goals.

Background: I was a very competitive soccer player in high-school, but decided not to play in college. I graduated in 07, so it's been about 6 years since I played at a high level, and my endurance is completely and utterly gone. Not a scrap left. I still look like a soccer player though: 5'10", thin, very strong legs, about 175 lbs (I think it's the thick legs, I have a sixpack etc. and don't see how I could weigh much less than 165).

I started working out at Crossfit Boston this past March, was out of the country all summer, and started up again about a month ago (so about 3.5 months total time crossfitting). I've made great strength gains over the past six months (I couldn't do any pullups when I started, and I got my first strict muscle-up a couple days ago, etc.), but I frankly suck ass at the met-con stuff. It hurts my soul - I love love love the gymnastics stuff, and I enjoy working on heavy lifts, but I just get no enjoyment whatsoever from met-con. I think I'm too used to breathing heavily in the context of chasing a ball to do it in a gym. I have trouble really pushing myself since I kind of just don't care that much - I'd settle for a 12 minute fran time if I could do a free-standing HSPU.

Does this make me a terrible person? Given that I mostly care about getting really good at gymnastics/capoeira, is it reasonable to ease up a bit on the met-con, or should I just suck it up and get good at it again? I'm wondering because the met-con really knocks me out and limits the time I have to work on gymnastics when I'm fresh.

Kind of an open-ended question, sorry about that, but I'm curious what you guys have to say. Thanks, Alan

joe waguespack
11-05-2008, 11:26 AM