PDA

View Full Version : Peer-reviewed scientific journal

Steve Liberati
01-06-2007, 07:29 AM
This may sound like a silly question but what exactly does it mean when someone uses a peer-review scientific journal as a frame of reference? I'm guessing its self-explanatory in the sense medical doctors and scientists review and approve the statement as valid, but is the peer-reviewed journal the end-all to end-all? Does peer-reviewed contentions ultimately refute any counter arguments and act as the highest form of validity?

Steve Shafley
01-06-2007, 07:38 AM
In short, no.

Peer review often means "mob rule"

Pierre Auge
01-06-2007, 02:43 PM
Essentially if I write something supid and Steve says yeah thats pretty stupid but funny. Then its been peer reviewed and i am now an expert on whatever stupid thing I just wrote!;) :D

Mike ODonnell
01-06-2007, 04:48 PM
Pierre did write something stupid....peer reviewed again. :)

Dave Van Skike
01-06-2007, 05:17 PM
Pierre did write something stupid....peer reviewed again. :)

True peer review requires that you have a spectrum of opinions. As in..I say. Steve was simplistic, Pierre's was just wrong and Mike piled on. Now that, is peer review.

Actually, peer review is a good deal more than mob rule. Peer review does not mean something is right but it adds a huge measure of credibility in that someone put their hat into the ring, published their assumptions and let their community of experts rip them apart.

"the process of peer review is considered critical to establishing a reliable body of research and knowledge. Scholars reading the published articles can only be expert in a limited area; they rely to some degree on the peer-review process to provide reliable and credible research that they can build upon for subsequent or related research."

I look at peer review as a benchmark like competition.