PDA

View Full Version : Training program - advice/comments requested

Emma Wheeler
03-23-2009, 07:22 AM
Hi,

I'm looking for some advice about putting together a training program - I've been reading a lot, both on the CrossFit boards and here (have been subscribing to PM for a couple of years), and although (or perhaps because) there's a great deal of excellent information, I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed!

A bit of background - I'm 37, female, 134 pounds. I am an aspiring Modern Pentathlete (pistol shooting, swimming, running, horse riding (jumping), and epee fencing). My swim distance is 100m or 200m, and run is 1000m or 3000m (the distances depend on event and whether there is a masters age group or not).

I've been CrossFitting on and off (due to injury) for a few years and enjoy it a lot, but I'm starting to think it's not the best fit for me.
I work as a computer programmer and have chronic neck/upper back problems. I'm treated by a good chiropractor, and do trigger point/foam roller work which has helped, plus working on my weak areas after reading articles by Eric Cressey. I've also just bought the Z-Health R-phase DVD/book and I think this will also make a difference. Most of the time my neck is fine, but certain things (pull-ups, dips, overhead presses - specifically max effort) will make it 'go'.

Currently I run 3-4 times a week, all 'quality' sessions, most less than 40 minutes and usually intervals of various lengths (1 to 10 minutes). One of those is a track session with 200m, 400m and 800m repetitions. One session may be a longer run (up to 10km), nice easy pace just running around the forest with my dog.

Swim - 3 times per week including one coached technique session, generally working on intervals rather than distance.

Shoot - once per week plus 'dry-firing' practise at home.

Fence - just starting fencing again after a knee injury (not-too-serious medial ligament tear). One club session of 1.5-2 hours bouting, and one coached session.