PDA

View Full Version : Squat Clean too low?

David Boyle
04-08-2009, 06:30 PM
I've been working on my o-lifts for the last couple weeks. Sadly I have no coaching so I've been learning through the various media I find on the net. When I do my cleans and go into the squat, I realized that I'm squatting below par.

Is this bad? Again I'm a noob w/ o-lifts. I don't want to cause damage to my body though, and I want to be able to do the tech properly.

So if I am going too low, about when should I stop the squat and start to accend up into the rack?

Hope this is clear.

Thanks.

Semper Fi!

Kevin Perry
04-08-2009, 06:34 PM
well generally as I've been taught you go as low as flexibility allows, well below parallel but you want to be sure you are capable of pulling yourself out of the hole.

David Boyle
04-08-2009, 06:39 PM
well generally as I've been taught you go as low as flexibility allows, well below parallel but you want to be sure you are capable of pulling yourself out of the hole.

Thanks Kevin,

Thats the thing...I have tremendous flexibiltiy in that region...however the lower you go the harder the squat right? So my concern is I don't want to cheat the technique...if going as low as I can go is the standard than I'm going to keep working it...but if not, and I can cut the drop a little and do more weight....than (in my lack of knowledge mind....:) ) that sounds very good.

But I'm on leave for the next few days and will be w/o the weight-room. So I'll be working straight KB's for the time being. Just wanted to have a game plan for Monday.

Thanks again.

Robert Callahan
04-08-2009, 07:20 PM
You want to work it as low as possible. This is because as the weight gets really heavy your ability to pull it up begins to wane. So instead of pulling the bar up higher you get low in order to catch it. The lower you can get the less high you have to pull the bar. Make sense?