PDA

View Full Version : Upper body strength: developing the pushup.

Jason Barrow
05-07-2009, 03:08 PM
Hi all,

I'll start with a thank you offered to no-one in particular: if you post here, then I'm talking to you! Been visiting the forum for a number of weeks and there's so much solid information/discussion flying about- I figured I should express some gratitude as I've pretty much been feeding of the site!

Anyway.....I'm a trainer/coach currently working out of a fairly generic gym. It's my first position out of university, I've been there around 18 months and it's safe to say it's been a fairly steep learning curve. Especially after discovering CF which led me here (and to the hybrid training thread!) and then paleo, IF etc, etc. My point is that I don't view training/fitness the way I use to and I definitely don't approach my clients in the same way!

On that note, I've taken a real interest, particularly with my female clients, in developing better competency with bodyweight movements. I'm curious, however, as to the best approach to developing the pushup?

Currently my colleagues and I are playing around with a tiered approach, using boards to reduce the depth/range of movement. Once a client is strong at a particular depth, we remove a board. Depending on their starting point, we'll work this from kneeling progressing to full extension on the toes. But a concern is that we're working in a shorted ROM and therefore the transference to a fuller ROM will be somewhat negligable? I wonder if full ROM worked at an incline and then getting progressively lower would be better?

I've also begun to form the opinion that, when working towards competency wth the pushup I would say 10+) working under load i.e. bench press, is best avoided? IMO there's no point working with external resistance as it were if we can't press our own body off the floor?! We've got all the resistance we need to work with right there!!!