ACL Tear (July 25, 2009) Pending Surgery
Meniscus Tear (July 25, 2009) Pending Surgery
Ankle Imingement (recent) Hopefully Not Surgery

Problem Areas Corrections
Post Surgery Shoulder (Labrum/AC Joint)* Avoid Benching
Weak Abdominal Strength Planks/ Ab Rollouts
Overstretched/Weak Upper Back Band Facepulls
Extremely Poor Dorsiflexion Will See PT

I started playing rugby at age 20 in college, with no athletic development knowledge and poor posture from a high school career of video gaming. I took a beating my first semester and decided to learn how to lift weights, going from 181 to 215 lbs in 9 months, progressing to the above lifts in that time as well.

I played and trained at a reasonably high level in Metro Division 2 in Canterbury, New Zealand, where I was also reintroduced to the Olympic lifts through a former Commonwealth Games competitor. I realized I loved playing rugby but was getting hurt too much, however I found it hard to fix some things and compensated with movement patterns instead. That's landed me with a knee surgery coming up and heaps of time to rehabilitate, learn as much as I can, and come back stronger.

2 year goals:
Properly and thoroughly address biomechanics, specifically knees and ankles.
Develop safe and proper deep squat form.
Build balanced and strong body with which to re-enter competitive sport.

6 year goal:
Play at Rugby Super League level.

Lifting Goals:
HB ATG Squat: 315lbs x 15reps
Clean and Jerk: 315lbs x 1rep
Ring Chinups: BW x 20reps

mark williams
08-04-2009, 04:19 PM
Hi Nick, I feel your pain on the ACL injury - how bad is the tear and what type of surgery are you having? I had a complete tear and reconstruction which is a long road back but, fingers crossed, I'm nearly there.