PDA

View Full Version : Hip Flexor help?

Justin Keane
02-22-2010, 11:54 AM
So, I've got some newly persistent pain in my left hip flexor/groin area. If this makes any sense, it feels like it's more of a joint/bone issue than a muscle soreness. Wider squats don't feel super; butterfly stretch (even as much as butterflying the feet on an abmat situp) doesn't feel super either.

A little background: hamstrings are tight but have been working on it. Have been doing 5/3/1 until recently when I switched to some Afterburn type stuff to coincide with a V-Diet--so I've been squatting high-bar once a week for about 3 months. Pain really came on when I tried switching to low-bar, though maybe that's more an indication of the change instance rather than the cause.

Anyhow, I've started some hip mobility stuff but am wondering if this sounds familiar to anyone out there and if so, what they've done for it. thanks!

Justin Keane
02-22-2010, 11:57 AM
change in stance rather than "change instance"

Ben Moskowitz
02-22-2010, 02:35 PM
Soft tissue work a la Joe Defranco?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHss4GvP4Fs
You can also use a lacrosse/tennis ball up against the wall or face down on the floor.

Maybe this has to do with adductor/groin muscle quality or flexibility since low-bar recruits those more. Also could be hip capsule tightness. Just some ideas and guesses. Maybe get it checked out?

Garrett Smith
02-22-2010, 02:38 PM
What movements bother you? Where exactly is the pain?

Ferreting out whether it is the groin or hip flexor should be the first part.

Justin Keane
02-22-2010, 05:00 PM
Just found this, from Rip's forum--this poster gives a pretty good description of what I'm feeling and experiencing: