PDA

View Full Version : Whistling near a graveyard?

Gary John
03-23-2010, 08:23 AM
Kind of notice how the recent death at x-fit was handled very well at IGX, but nada more or less elsewhere.

I owned a rigging company for over 30 years, and that bullseye of killing someone was there everyday.

When everybody is a personal trainer, I'm wondering of how much the actual risks of being that trainer enters into your lives.

Or, is this more like big marathons where somebody croaks in every race?

Kevin Perry
03-23-2010, 09:29 AM
I'm lost, did someone die recently?

Greg Everett
03-23-2010, 10:05 AM
I'm not a doctor, but my limited experience and understanding leads me to believe, as has been said elsewhere, that the nature of her death was one not really caused by CF - it was likely a genetic predisposition, and the precipitating event could have been just about anything. That being said, I do find it odd that the place will exploit the deaths of soldiers for its own benefit (if you really want to help, send the widows and their kids some of that money, and don't advertise it), and yet won't even mention this... makes me envision a bunch of RRG lawyers scrambling madly around the war room trying to erase all evidence of the Company's association. I don't think any trainer or coach, no matter how experienced or credentialed, would have seen it coming. I know of AAA and TAA deaths that had zero apparent direct cause - they just went. There are a lot of ignorant, irresponsible CF trainers doing ignorant, irresponsible CF stuff out there and hurting people unnecessarily, but I don't think this counts - it could have happened in any gym with any trainer; or outside the gym, for that matter.

Best wishes to her family and friends.

Gary John
03-23-2010, 10:06 AM
Yes.

Jonathan Yoon
03-23-2010, 10:11 AM
I'm lost, did someone die recently?