PDA

View Full Version : Bench Press vs Weighted Push Up

Jay Guindon
04-04-2010, 11:09 PM
Hey guys,
Would a weighted pushup or bench press be a better exercise for pushing strength in the real world? I work in a warehouse and had to push a few boxes of Cliff Bars to the back of a shelf today and wish I had a little better pushing strength.

Paul LaDuke
04-05-2010, 04:50 AM
Probably the push ups because that involves the stabilizing muscles of the posterior shoulder much more. Plus there is a core stabilizing aspect of pushups that is non-existent in the bench press.

Additionally, you may want to think about the leg involvement in pushing boxes. Pushing a sled may even yield better results.

Blair Lowe
04-06-2010, 03:00 AM
Bench Press.

It's not to say that you should leave out pushups to stabilize the shoulder but for raw strength- weighted press.

Overhead pressing still needs to involve the trunk. I think I have read something about how if the feet are planted on the ground in a BP, the trunk is involved.

The sled pushing is a good idea. I used to get a hell of a workout pushing about 9 crates of milk in the dairy freezer. It's fluid but that is an assload of fluid. That's
4608 ounces of milk besides the crates (which are almost nothing). I used to call it 290 pounds. Fun to push.

Júlíus G. Magnússon
04-06-2010, 08:28 AM
Probably the push ups because that involves the stabilizing muscles of the posterior shoulder much more. Plus there is a core stabilizing aspect of pushups that is non-existent in the bench press.

Additionally, you may want to think about the leg involvement in pushing boxes. Pushing a sled may even yield better results.
I'm afraid you don't know how to bench press.

Gant Grimes
04-06-2010, 08:32 AM