PDA

View Full Version : Power snatch technique advice

Johan Simu
08-03-2010, 12:28 AM
I am a total newbie in the snatch, have only done it a few times. Trying to teach myself through the top down progression described in Harveys Explosive lifting for sports. So I started working from blocks(or well technically benches :D).

Here is a video of it from yesterday. I first hit a couple of reps of high pulls before trying the snatch.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTSzk2nQpgI

Is there any large glaring error I can fix?

Johan Simu
08-03-2010, 12:32 AM
Every now and then during the second pull I hit my pelvis bone quite badly, is there any easy way to ensure this wont happen?

glennpendlay
08-04-2010, 05:13 AM
The best thing would be to shoot a video from a 45 degree angle so we can see what is happening with your hips and the bar.

Greg Chin
08-04-2010, 06:20 AM
Glenn's advice is the best for getting really specific info. But otherwise it's quite likely you're initiating the second pull a little too late, and/or slamming your hips into the bar. One way to avoid this is to practice drills that ingrain a pattern in your movement between the first and second pulls.

For sets of 10 you could try pull the bar from below your knees to just above the mid-thigh (in the range of where you should be starting the second pull). The focus here is to really concentrate on the path of the bar, so start with just 20kg before working up. If you're doing these right your quads should hate you.

Johan Simu
08-04-2010, 06:41 AM
Thanks!

I will shoot a new video from a different angle.

Greg I will give that exercise a try today!

Johan Simu
08-04-2010, 01:32 PM
Here is a new video. Best angle I could muster in my gym :) They felt a bit better today, didn't bash my pubic bone at all. First did a few reps of high pulls before every snatch to ingrain the vertical bar path into my head. When I just snatch without high pulling a few times before I tend to throw the bar out away from my body.