PDA

View Full Version : Why lie? I'm a mess.... I REALLY need help

Jarod Barker
08-13-2010, 10:35 PM
Hey guys, I know I haven't been on here in forever. I haven't had time to use the computer for anything but work in forever as well. In any case, now I'm going to have lots of time to catch up.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this. I thought it would be easier to get it all out at once instead just telling a piece at a time.

So, before I begin, I've already spent the past few hours reading through all 12 pages of the recovery threads. I have sifted through and found a few pieces here and there that may apply, but I've got sort of a perfect storm of problems.

I'm 26 years old, and I've been training consistently for 7 years.

I was following a program of training 5 days a week. Most of the workouts took an hour to complete, are generally a Crossfit style design, but have an emphasis on running, swimming, longer duration. An example might be, Run 2 miles, then 10 rounds of 5 deadlifts, 10 pullups, and 15 thrusters, then swim 1000 yards. I followed the program to the letter and made great progress. I started the program last September 2009.

Then in January 2010, I got the flu. In February, I got the flu again. In March, I fractured my tibia. Also in March, my doc sent me for bloodwork to make sure something wasn't wrong that made my tibia fracture so easily. Instead, they became concerned about my low T level (427 ng/dl) and my high cortisol levels. I was sent for all kinds of tests including a cosyntropin stimulation test which was extremely unpleasant. In any case, the endocrinologist decided that I had just overtrained myself to the point where my cortisol levels were actually becoming detrimental. Natually, with a fractured tibia, I had some down time. It was a minor fracture, so by April I was back to training. In June, I fractured my metatarsals, tore the lisfranc, and strained the ATF.