PDA

View Full Version : Grip for Pendlay Row

Giulio Pizzini
08-19-2010, 03:04 AM
I am a novice oly lifter and I'm using Pendlay rows to improve back strength.

I'm a bit unsure what grip spacing should I use (or maybe better put what are the trade-offs of different spacings).

Right now I'm using a grip right in the middle of a snatch grip and a clean grip, so quite a wide one which is what I thought Glenn was using showing the lift in some pictures I saw.

Any thoughts?

Allen Yeh
08-19-2010, 04:08 AM
Sounds about right, this is based a lot on your own body as I have long arms for my not as long body I found taking a grip like you described just about right.

I basically try taking a grip that is long enough that at the bottom of the movement I have to let the barbell drop to the ground rather than hitting the ground at the bottom.

Garrett Smith
08-19-2010, 05:54 AM
From what I understand, it's your snatch grip. That's what I use.

Also, to maintain my lumbar curve, I prop the bar up off of the ground by several inches (using plates or something else). Not everyone has to do this though.

Ben Moskowitz
08-19-2010, 06:33 AM
Check out this website:
http://stronglifts.com/how-to-perform-the-pendlay-row-with-correct-technique/

I just try to mirror Justin Brimhall there, hand and foot position, etc.

John Alston
08-19-2010, 07:09 AM
related tangent... I don't know if I have ever executed a good Pendlay row, but I have enjoyed nice strict - totally static back angle parallel to floor bb rows - before, and find using the underhand grip is a good flavor change, hits the rhomboids - middle back area really well.

Gant Grimes
08-19-2010, 03:38 PM
Clean grip or very slightly wider.

Don't overthink it. This is a dynamic BB row where you keep your back flat and hit yourself in mid to upper belly.

Here is a picture I guarantee is 100% accurate on the grip.

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k216/gantgrimes/IMG_0240-1.jpg

Ben Moskowitz
08-19-2010, 04:37 PM
who's pictured?