PDA

View Full Version : Curious - "Kinds" of grip strength?

Justin Arnold
10-27-2010, 09:45 PM
Years ago I noticed something that got me thinking.. and it just dawned on me to check with the experience here to see what their take on it is.

I've been bouldering for 10 years, achieving a level of ability that is by no means amazing, but quite respectable. Throughout that time I've known a lot of STRONG climbers, though I've pretty much always been the heaviest "climber" I know ranging from about 175-195lb. All of these guys, some of whom can literally do 1 finger pullups on a piece of webbing, do NOT have amazing ability to close grip strength testers. They have huge forearms, so their ability is greater than your average guy, but it isn't at all in line with what you'd expect. The average "guy that works with his hands" would usually beat them in a test of traditional grip strength using a concentric contraction. I've been just KILLED by my best friend that is a welder on our highly scientific, "squeeze the edges of the bathroom scale" test.

The difference seems to be freakish isometric ability. ie, resisting opening once your hand is closed. And to me, that makes sense when considering how climbing is actually done. Rarely do climbers have an open hand on a hold then forcibly close it. We hit the hold with a closed hand then PULL..

Speaking for myself, even when doing rack deadlifts with well over double bodyweight, I feel no need to alternate hands or use a hook grip. I just pull, and grip is never an issue. Same story when training the Olympic Lifts. I've only recently had to start using a hook grip during the snatch/OHS because of a nerve glide issue in my left hand. Going back to my friend the welder, despite him killing me squeezing the bathroom scale, my ability to hang with one or two fingers on a horrible hold, or simply maintain grip a HEAVY object.. I am the one killing it.