PDA

View Full Version : Cycling assistance exercises

Ben Byram
11-26-2010, 10:42 AM
Hi,

I'm an intermediate level trainee (about 3 years training properly) and my training is going okay currently - all my lifts are increasing...

However, I am unsure how best to apply the assistance work.

When progress stalls on the assistance exercises should I always change them to try and get as much benefit as possible from new movement patterns?

Should I just continue to pound away on the productive assistance moves even if progress has stalled providing the main lifts continue to improve?

Should I keep the most beneficial ones, just reset 10% or whatever and build back-up?

Essentially some assistance moves definitely work for me, e.g. RDL's, chins and dips. I'm unsure at what stage (if at all) I should try new exercises, or whether I should tinker with set/rep schemes in those moves more long-term. (Trunk stuff I just change every 8 weeks, but it's the other aspects I'm more concerned about).

I hope that makes sense... I welcome your input.

Cheers,

Ben

Brian DeGennaro
11-26-2010, 11:03 AM
Without taking a look at your training log, I will say this:

If your goal is to snatch and CJ more, then as long as that is improving you are doing something right.

Your energy should mostly be spent on snatching and CJ'ing more... not so much assistance exercises. IMO, assistance exercises should be short and quick, not consist up equal or similar volume and intensity as snatch/CJ.

On a cycle of where you are trying to push for bigger PRs or training for a meet, I would remove assistance exercises at least 4 weeks out.

Ben Byram
11-26-2010, 11:10 AM
Brian,

Thanks for your response.

However, my aims are currently strength on the main barbell lifts. I obviously should have said that in my post. (Wouldn't mind weightlifting at some point, if there's anyone knows of any weightlifting clubs in northwest England?).

To add, I am not competing. Training is purely for fun.