PDA

View Full Version : Embarassingly crappy squat strength

Dave Seng
11-20-2013, 09:16 AM
I've been going mad attempting to get my squat numbers up. I'm 35 years old, 6'3" and 220# and a current 1RM is 315#. My training PRs for the Snatch and C&J are 97kg and 107kg respectively, though I've not been able to successfully C&J more than 100kg recently. My coach, and others, that have seen me squat say that my form is spot on, but that my height and limb proportions are what are limiting me.

I joined this newly formed weightlifting club in April, and essentially self taught myself the Olympic Lifts over the previous year before that. Before that I was crossfitting for two years before and then becoming obsessed with the Olympic lifts. Before that I had had no idea what I could use a barbell for or what the Olympic lifts were.

Looking through my training log, in August of 2012 I tested my 1RM squat and hit 305#, then in Oct 2012 I hit 315#, and this frustrates me to no end. Another thing I note is that in August of 2012 I weighed 202#, so in a way, I'd say my strength has gone down? Is this just an age thing?

Over this period I've cut from 6 days a week, down to 3 days a week. Currently our coach has us wrapping up a second Smolov cycle. I think I eat pretty clean, i.e. I avoid processed food when possible, I eat rice, but no other grains, and a ton of meat like beef and eggs and veggies. The scale I use, which are deemed inaccurate, says my BF is 12%.

I feel like I'm putting in the work, I'm just not getting the results I'd expect. Is this kind of lull something to be expected?

Dave Seng
11-20-2013, 09:50 AM
Here are my lifts from a mock competition I did on Sept 7th '13.

WRZftJ-0-V0
scJurpfoWao

Sorry, these are the only videos I have.

Andrew Kerwin
11-20-2013, 12:58 PM