PDA

View Full Version : Second Pull not a jump?

Rob Chu
07-28-2014, 06:11 PM
Seems like this has been argued to death, but as a beginner, I have found that thinking of jumping into the bar has really helped me with my second pull. However, it appears that most coaches do not teach or view the second pull as a jump.

I had a problem with jumping forward on both my snatch and my cleans and after analyzing some video of myself, it seemed the problem was that I was cutting off my extension too early, which ended up making me kick my feet/legs forward. After trying a bunch of different things, I thought about jumping as hard as I can "into" the bar after getting my hips under it, and I stopped jumping forward and my lifts went up as well because i was extending up fully with much more force.

I guess I don't understand why thinking of jumping is wrong. I have heard its because you don't want to float away and the emphasis should be on getting under the bar quickly, but it seems to me that if you make sufficient contact with the bar at the proper angle and the weight is heavy enough, you won't float away, and instead, jumping violently into the bar will (1) transfer your energy into bar, propelling it up and (2) at the same time, allow you to quickly lift your feet in the same motion and propel you down off of the contact. It also seems like my bar path is better if I think of jumping up into the bar instead of extending and bumping into the bar with my hips and then moving down.

Also, if speed is a concern, it seems like milko tokola, who may not be elite but is probably the fastest lifter I have seen, actually jumps up with his feet in the air at lower weights as evidenced by this warmup vid:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btsJ5soET74