PDA

View Full Version : New Boyle Article

Ron Nelson
04-24-2007, 02:48 PM
http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do;jsessionid=FD71EB381226975DC70B75FD22 506F4F.hydra?id=1543621

Read it; liked it; already have added the box one-legged squats to the workout.

Discuss.

Steve Shafley
04-24-2007, 02:50 PM
Good stuff.

The one legged stuff is really relevant, and I wish I would have known about it back in 1988 when I started playing rugby, or even sooner.

Dave Van Skike
04-24-2007, 03:03 PM
Good stuff.

The one legged stuff is really relevant, and I wish I would have known about it back in 1988 when I started playing rugby, or even sooner.

Seems like there is a lot of consensus on the value of single limb movements, (I freely prescribe one legged deadlifts to the wife...... "what's another word for pirate treasure?" )

but, is there a sense that single leg movements carry over to double leg movements? like squats and dl? I use single arm pressing almost half the time to provoke my two hand overhead press but in review, I'm not sure it works.

Ron Nelson
04-24-2007, 07:09 PM
Aaargh.

I get the impression that single leg carries over to double leg, but the opposite does not occur.

Dave Van Skike
04-24-2007, 08:17 PM
Aaargh.

I get the impression that single leg carries over to double leg, but the opposite does not occur.

I think it's booty.

Mike ODonnell
04-24-2007, 08:19 PM

Probably...depending on what you are looking at. Single leg will enhance all those wonderful stabilizes much like using DBs will vs BB. But squatting or DL with 2 legs doesnt mean someone can do a pistol with bodyweight only....you are only as strong as your weakest muscle allows you to be...