Catalyst Athletics Forums

Catalyst Athletics Forums (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Endurance (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Running Programming for Marine Corps (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2548)

Donald Lee 06-01-2008 12:04 AM

Running Programming for Marine Corps

I'm currently a Marine Corps Officer Candidate, and I developed a borderline stress fracture in my shin about 6 weeks ago from forcing the issue on my running.

Last summer, I went to OCS with a 3-mile time of 22:55 and left with a time of 21:55. My training last year consisted of bodyweight circuits, 4-5 mile beach, hill, and trail runs 2-3 days a week, and one day of intervals a week.

After OCS, I did strength training and no running for 6 months, and then I started CrossFiting in January. The trainer at my CrossFit affiliate suggested I jog about 3-5 miles at a conversational pace 2-3 days a week in the afternoons. Perhaps I didn't follow it enough, but I soon discovered that run time was really bad. One day I found that after a few months of CrossFiting, I ran a 26 min 3-mile time.

This is when I began to force the issue. I CrossFited about 4 days a week, and I would run in the afternoons M-W-F. I switched off between between workout A- running 200 meter intervals and workout B - running 4-6 mile hill/beach runs. My body was having a tough time recovering, so I slept about 9-10 hours a day, including a daily nap after CrossFiting in the morning. And, I would take contrast showers.

I was feeling the effects of overtraining, and shin problem that had been bothering me returned and I tried to run through the pain because I had no choice, as I was set to return to the second half of OCS in July.

Now, I just did a month or so of SS because I couldn't do anything high impact. In June, I'm going to return to CrossFiting, and I'm going to start taking up martial arts 2-3 nights a week.