Catalyst Athletics Forums

Catalyst Athletics Forums (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Olympic Weightlifting (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Just starting : need advice on programming (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3845)

Brian Gregory 02-10-2009 08:05 PM

Just starting : need advice on programming

I have just started the CA WOD after approx 1.5 yrs of Crossfit mainpage WOD. I have no real athletic background before this and no exposure to the olympic lifts. Through Crossfit I found that I really enjoy the O-lifts and I decided to devote some time to developing them. I will only be doing the CA WOD.

I recently, last weekend, competed in a local meet in Gainesville, GA. Coach CJ Stockel with Team GA Weightlifting allowed me to join his team. Anyways, I want to compete in another meet on March 7. I was looking for advice on where to start on the CA WOD cycle? I started monday at the beginning of Strength cycle 1 from December. Is this the optimal place to start? Obviously I would like to improve some on my previous meet #'s.

I snatched 75 kilos, C&J 105 kilos

I'm a 27 yoa male, BW 78kg, 5'10" tall

Derek Maffett 02-10-2009 08:28 PM

Ideally, you'll want to jump in on the Strength cycle like you did because the Bulgarian cycle can end up hurting you if you aren't ready for it.

But then again, you're not going to have a lot of preparation time (by the time the strength cycle ends for you, the meet will be right away), so this may not be the best idea.

Off hand, I'd say dump the metcon and work on getting your form down. Perhaps something kind of like the bulgarian cycle but scaled down in whatever ways necessary to keep from getting injured (throwing out the metcon will help with this).

But that's just my ignorant opinion. Understand that I know practically nothing about programming. Greg's input will be much more valuable here.

Brian Lawyer 02-11-2009 07:27 AM