Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 08-16-2013, 12:55 PM   #1
Ivan Oliveira

Default snatch technique trouble

greetings,

my name is Ivan Oliveira, I'm from Portugal and I started Oly lifting about one and a half years now.
Olympic weightlifting is pretty poor here, and there's only a few places where you can actually train.
So I started looking on the internet for tips, schedulles, and technique discussion.
I've seen a lot of youtube videos also and I'm following a Greg's plan for beginners that I kinda adapt to
myself.
My technique is pretty much self-taught and I've made a slow progress, but now I'm a bit 'stuck' with
my snatch technique. I'm missing almost all my reps to the front.
I mean... I'm strong and as you see in the video I can almost muscle snatch 90kg but I can't squat snatch
more than 80kg.
My questions are: what is wrong with my snatch and what can I do to improve it (exercises, drills,
acessory movements... whatever!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQ5hR1a6_AU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TsLe6AJUuFI

Thanks!
Ivan Oliveira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 04:35 PM   #2
Blake Barnes

What are your squat numbers? If you feel weak standing up out of the bottom position then I would say it's a weakness in the legs. In that case, I would suggest a squat program along with some overhead squats.