Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Nutrition > Supplements

Old 09-29-2013, 09:18 AM   #1
Dan Appert

Default If you could only afford one, which one for strength and recovery?

I've never been very big on supplements, but as I get more serious about my strength training and general fitness I have started including some. I am a student and I only make around $1000-$1200 a month after taxes, and with various bills due to poor decisions in the past I don't have a lot of income left over. I currently take glucosamine sulphate for joints, a couple fish oil capsoles a day, and BCAA's (branch chain amino acids). I don't want to continue spending a tenth of my income on supplements so I'm going to cut out the glucosamine.

I eat a decent portion of protien after a train, but I'm wondering if my money would be better spent on some whey containing BCAA's or if I should continue with the pre/intra workout stnad alone BCAA's, or if there is a better supplemnet all together for strength and recovery. I'm going to continue with the fish oil for general health, so the title of the post is a little misleading.

What is your go to supplement for hard training?

thanks
Dan Appert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 10:03 AM   #2
Darryl Shaw

If you're eating a reasonably varied diet that meets energy needs you'll already be getting all the indispensable amino acids you need from food. So it's unlikely that you'll get any real benefit from whey or BCAA supplements. If you're set on taking supplements though I'd recommend creatine monohydrate as it's cheap and ~70% of users report improved performance.

AIS Sports Nutrition Factsheet: Creatine.

International Society of Sports Nutrition Position Stand: Creatine Supplementation and Exercise.