Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Nutrition > General Nutrition

Old 07-20-2007, 03:15 PM   #1
Kevin Perry

Default Some Questions on Weight Gain

So i've been implementing IF for the past several months with great success using Crossfit and MMA as training platforms. I started working a night shift last year which lasts 10 hours and makes fitness and eating difficult. So far i've been able to maintain a very lean and very fit body but now I would like to add some weight. I currently weigh 125lbs at about 9% body fat. I eat mostly paleo and fast from 2 a.m. to 5 p.m. breaking fast after training which is around 5:30 p.m. and eat until 1:40 a.m.

Work is from 8pm to 6:40 am in an assembly line so snacks during break are next to impossible which makes it difficult to get calories up.

I would like some constructive criticism on a new plan im thinking of tinkering with. I would like to add 10 - 15 pounds over the next 3 - 6 months through a paleo diet with M.E. Blackbox training 2 -3 times a week. Before IF I could never get enough food during the day which made energy very low and since implementing it I can actually eat more.

Being a college student and working full time getting proper foods is also difficult but I stay on paleo probably 85- 90% of the time, I don't drink soda's only water, tea, occassionally lemonade, and frappucinos ( not the best I know but sometimes I can't help it). As for food sources, I only eat lean meats and veggies, some fruit and nuts (pretty much crossfit diet in 100 words). I try to stay off heavy starches, pasta, breads, rarely eat fruits, almost never eat fast food, never eat candy, etc. I do take supplements i.e. multivitamins, fish oil, and muscle milk. I want to add green tea.