Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Nutrition > Paleo Diet

Old 09-20-2007, 10:36 PM   #1
Jordan Glasser

Default Nightshade sensitivity question

Is it possible to react from just a little cayenne pepper? I made the paleo mayo this evening and added a little more cayenne accidently. With the meal I also ate a bit of Kimchi, that also has some red peppers in it (It was the last of a 1 liter jar, with no previous reactions when eating it). One hour later my hands are all swollen. Is it possible to be that sensitive to nightshades. I have been avoiding them for about 5 months.

Otherwise, my diet and training has been going extremely well.
Jordan Glasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 06:32 AM   #2
Garrett Smith

Jordan,
That would be absolutely possible.

The best way to know (if you want to try) is to avoid all nightshades for about a week after all symptoms of this episode have completely relieved, then purposely try a high dose of nightshades (you may want to mix several types, as in a baked potato with salsa on it). Watch for a similar reaction. If it happens, then you'll know.

Greg says the October PMenu will be the appearance of my first article on the nightshades...
Garrett Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 09:06 AM   #3
Greg Battaglia

I've never noticed any joint pain or swelling from nightshades. I do however, have a general feeling of malaise after eating any night shades. That's enough for me to stay away.
There are dreams we’re taught are normal, whether it’s money or success or any of those things, but we shouldn’t believe in those things if they are not important to us. There is an ocean between our real lives and what is expected of us.” -Tim Lambesis
Greg Battaglia is offline   Reply With Quote