Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 10-11-2007, 08:09 AM   #1
bill brasky

Question Rest Between Sets

All,

I am doing a program I read in Dan John's "From the Ground Up" - Dave Turner beginner's Program.

Simply it is:

C&J 8X1 (1 rep is perfect form)
Snatch 8X2 (2 rep is perfect form)
F. Squat 5X5
Press 5X3
(rotate exercies every workout, and do it 3 X wk)

Because I can typically only afford 45 min. per workout, Dan told me to drop the presses until the workout length is under 45 min.

Well, because I'm pretty new to Oly Lifting, I struggle with rest periods, and weight progression. Typically, because I must use good form, I only snatch between 32-42 kilos, and C&J between 42-52 kilos. (I know it is weak ok, but I'm learning). For more info, I am f. squating usually 1,750 kilos in tonnage for 5X5 in squat (~70kX5 repsX 5 sets).

My questions are:

Should I start light on the singles and doubles and work upto a max, or use pretty much the same wieght throughout? Same for squats and presses?

If I had to properly distribute rest periods amongst exercises to stay under 45 min, how might one do this?

Thanks guys.

Last edited by Bleu Bettencourt : 10-12-2007 at 06:25 AM. Reason: Miss-typed words
Old 10-15-2007, 10:10 PM   #2
Don Stevenson

A few thoughts