Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Fitness, Strength & CrossFit

Old 02-15-2008, 06:32 AM   #1
Ari Kestler

Default CF WOD vs PM WOD vs RUTMAN WOD

Sorry if this is a bit overlapping with the other 2 threads, but I can't seem to really find the answer to my question without significantly hijacking the other threads...so what exactly is the difference between each of these? What are the long term goals? What are some of the drawbacks?

I'm a fairly novice lifter (random BB routines for a year, SS for a month, before deciding I really want to start CF already)...I started CF about 2 weeks ago. Needless to say I can barely finish the WoD even scaled (most scaling involves cutting everything in half)after I do the CFWU...I'm entertaining the idea of cutting down the CFWU until I'm not totally gassed after it....but that is a separate issue...

Despite not being able to finish the WODs, I haven't been extremely sore the next day but I'm on a 2:1 schedule because by the end of the week it does take it's toll on me. I feel really good though.

My main goals are to improve my strength and stay "fit" whatever that means, for now I'll stick to the definitions set out by both of these communities... so after looking at Rutman's WoD I'm beginning to think that maybe it's a better WoD for me initially to develop the strength I need... I was on a SS program for a few weeks and it was working but it became too monotonous and I like the full body feeling I get from CF and the fact that it's dynamic... Should I just stick with CF? I've sort of discounted the PM WOD because I don't have that much of an interest in OL at this point in time...but I'm open to your thoughts...

Thanks.
Ari Kestler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 06:53 AM   #2
Garrett Smith

Ari,