Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Fitness, Strength & CrossFit

Old 06-25-2008, 07:58 PM   #1
Stefan Borovina

Default Long Cycle C+J - Killing my Wrists

I am pretty new to Kettlebell Training and I am practicing my C+J long cycles to improve my overall work capacity.

I was wondering if there is any resource where I can learn how NOT to kill my hand with the bell as I clean it. Right now I can't do a cycle longer than 3 minutes because my hands get numb from getting smashed so many times.
I have searched on youtube but I can't find anything that really tells you how not to hit your hand.

Thanks to anyone who has any advice.
Stefan Borovina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 01:58 AM   #2
Dave Gibbs

mate, I am by no means an expert in KBs and to a large degree the solution is technique driven. I assume you are banging the wrist/forearm when catching the clean in the rack position? The way I was taught is that its really about controlling the speed of rotation of the KB as it comes over your hand and then using your legs as kinda shock absorbers to absorb the impact a bit.
Personally I also wear a pair of sweatbands high on my wrists and have found that this helps in limiting the bruising!
Dave Gibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 04:31 AM   #3
Darryl Shaw

Stefan I'm a beginner myself so I've no idea whether or not this is the correct technique but I've found that I suffer fewer problems with my hands and wrists if I relax my grip and use the same open thumbless grip I use with pull-ups.