Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Fitness, Strength & CrossFit

Old 05-07-2009, 03:08 PM   #1
Jason Barrow

Default Upper body strength: developing the pushup.

Hi all,

I'll start with a thank you offered to no-one in particular: if you post here, then I'm talking to you! Been visiting the forum for a number of weeks and there's so much solid information/discussion flying about- I figured I should express some gratitude as I've pretty much been feeding of the site!

Anyway.....I'm a trainer/coach currently working out of a fairly generic gym. It's my first position out of university, I've been there around 18 months and it's safe to say it's been a fairly steep learning curve. Especially after discovering CF which led me here (and to the hybrid training thread!) and then paleo, IF etc, etc. My point is that I don't view training/fitness the way I use to and I definitely don't approach my clients in the same way!

On that note, I've taken a real interest, particularly with my female clients, in developing better competency with bodyweight movements. I'm curious, however, as to the best approach to developing the pushup?

Currently my colleagues and I are playing around with a tiered approach, using boards to reduce the depth/range of movement. Once a client is strong at a particular depth, we remove a board. Depending on their starting point, we'll work this from kneeling progressing to full extension on the toes. But a concern is that we're working in a shorted ROM and therefore the transference to a fuller ROM will be somewhat negligable? I wonder if full ROM worked at an incline and then getting progressively lower would be better?