Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 08-06-2009, 10:10 AM   #1
Allen Yeh

Default Coach Don McCauley and the Catapault Technique

Each of the videos is ~8 minutes long and it talks about why triple extension is not the preferred technique any longer. I posted these to see what more experienced people have to say as I'm still a novice in the ways of Oly and completely inexperienced in coaching.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KM9PDmrFWnM Video 1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OeGeP...eature=channel Video 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ha5l6...eature=channel Video 3

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWpHC...eature=channel Video 4

A discussion about it over at P&B as well:
http://powerandbulk.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=43118
Allen Yeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 11:52 AM   #2
Greg Everett
Administrator

I’ve avoided commenting on this discussion for a while, but I can’t help it now. First Don McCauley is a far better, more experienced coach, and probably considerably more intelligent, than I am, but I do want to comment a few parts of his presentation that I disagree with.

First, triple extension is not a lifting style/technique, and this is a fundamental issue. Triple extension is just a description of what occurs during a lift – that is, the ankles, knees and hips extend.

What McCauley is really describing as outdated technique is simply POOR technique – that poor technique is not inherently coupled with extending those three joints. One can change directions quickly or slowly at the top of extension, and this appears to be his primary focus.