Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Training Logs

Old 08-07-2009, 02:49 PM   #1
Justin Keane

Default JK Training Log

Well, if this doesn't force me to stop crossing out and rewriting "Day 1--New Routine" in my journal, nothing will.

I've been training at Crossfit Boston for almost two years, but the past year has been hit or miss for me after a really great summer of 08. Deconditioning/whatever coincides with the birth of my first son, so hey, it is what it is and I'm not beating myself up about it--but he's 9 months now and sleeping through the night so it's time for Daddy to get stronger and faster again and drop some weight along the way.

Training: A friend and I are going to be following Gant's hybrid routine (as he posted in June of 08) for the next 12 weeks.

Nutrition: Paleo Cyclic low carb (protocol is as described in Natural Hormonal Enhancement)...like everyone else says, tonight is the last gasp of the higher-carb life. Couple of beers and some ribs sound great and then...BAMM.

Goals: Some solid increases on the Oly lifts (Snatch and OHS are a particular hole in my game and Jerk lags behind Clean), holding serve or bettering Fran time of a year ago, additional 5-10 lbs on dead and squat, 10 lbs-ish fat loss, use gymnastics time to actually get some HSPU.

Relevant benchmarks:
Body Weight: 197 (July 09)
Fran: 5:31 (summer 08)
Grace: 8:04 (June 09)
Helen: 9:55 (Summer 08)
Elizabeth: 13:47 (Summer 08)
HSPU: a big fat 0, can't even kick up into one
Max Snatch: 75 lbs (summer 09) (Power Snatch 105, Aug 09)
Max O/H Squat: 115 (summer 08)
Max Clean: 185 (June 09) (Power Clean 185, Aug 09)
Max Jerk: 170 (split, summer 08)