Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 10-04-2009, 06:58 AM   #1
Sara Fleming

Default Programming for teenagers

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for some advice. I tried the search function, but couldn't find anything relevant.

I am a Crossfit trainer and USA Weightlifting Club Coach. I have three teenage girls I would like to take to local competition in the spring/early summer. I would like to use PM programming with them, but will only be training with them 3 times a week. They participate in other sports and have demanding academic schedules. They range in age from 13-17.

Does anyone coach teenage weightlifters? Aside from not maxing then out prematurely, does anyone use PM programming with kids and do you adjust it in any way? I'm guessing I would probably hybridize some of the training days as we wouldn't be getting more than 3 a week, but since they are just beginners and we're not worried about setting world records, I'm not going to sweat it.

Thanks for any feedback.

Sara
Sara Fleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:22 AM   #2
Brian DeGennaro

How familiar with the lifts are they, what other sports do they play, and how many hours during those three days do they have to train? Also, what days do they train?

My general opinion is, if they can do the lifts with moderate proficiency (it looks like a snatch and a CJ and not something else) or once you get them to that point, have them do it every single workout, epsecially if they are only training them 3x/week. They are young so they will see progress. However, this does not mean maxes every day a la Bulgarian training. Take it up to a weight that looks and feels slightly chalenging, and take several singles there. Rest 10 minutes, move onto the clean & jerks.