Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Flexibility, Training Preparation & Recovery

Old 01-31-2010, 06:17 AM   #1
Patrick Donnelly

Default Frequent Waking & Moving During Sleep

Over the past two weeks or so, I've found that I've been waking up and fidgeting about while trying to sleep. I have made some dietary changes lately, all of which revolve around a new schedule for this semester that makes it most convenient to eat all of my meals in the morning. I've been doing IF for 2-3 years now, but pretty much the whole time, it's been working out in the afternoon/evening, then eating immediately afterwards. Since that changed, I've noticed three things:

1. My memory is better in the morning (and no worse at other times).
2. I'm feeling real hesitant to leave bed in the morning. I feel like I could always sleep an extra hour, until I get out of bed and start moving.
3. The waking up and moving. (Might also be the cause of #2.)

The waking seems to happen 2-5 times a night, though I don't know exactly when or for how long - I try not to look at clocks while sleeping. I know that at at least one point, it happened just before 3am, so it certainly isn't my body's way of telling me I had enough sleep. When I wake up, I'm able think in complete thoughts, which are generally along the lines of "Crap, I just woke up again," or "Why can't I get comfortable and stay asleep?"

Here are some things that I don't think are causing it:
- Generally getting 8hrs of sleep (if not more) between the hours of 10pm and 8am.
- Sleep in a pitch-black room.
- Have a busy life, but not too stressed about it.
- Getting about 3.5g of omega-3's (which includes EPA, DHA, and other - the label isn't awfully specific) from capsules.