Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 04-16-2010, 02:44 PM   #1
Brian Gill

Default Hit the Wall

Hey guys, love the website and all its valueable information.

Gotta question for ya. Ive been doing Starting strength for the past 6 months. My bodyweight has gone from 155 to 194 and my lifts have increased amazingly. I am now 5 weeks out from my first powerlifting meet and I fear that I might bump up into the next class. There are only two classes, lightweight (<198) and heavyweight (>198).
At 5'7" I dont necessarily want to weigh 200 lbs all the time. I was competing in weightlifting at 155 and decided I wanted to get much, much stronger to compete at 85kg. On my journey to gain strength I decided I would compete in atleast one powerlifting meet.
As my weight reaches 200 lbs I have slowly started eating less, but as expected I am no longer recovering to continue with starting strength. So my questions are: Do I say F it, continue to pound down the Kcals and get as big and strong as I can before this meet and not care about what weight class Im in? ( I ask this because I was hoping to be somewhat competitive at the meet). Or do I swtich to a more periodized program that will allow me to continue to make gains and eat at a slightly more moderate amount of food? Any input is greatly appreciated, thanks guys!
Brian Gill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 04:11 PM   #2
Grissim Connery

in 6 months you increased your BW by 32%. clinically it's a concern to change more than 10% in 6 months. now granted this is not a stone cold rule, but i think it's safe to say you could stop trying to gain for at least a little while.
Grissim Connery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 06:11 PM   #3
Brian Gill