Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Fitness, Strength & CrossFit

Old 05-05-2010, 03:26 PM   #1
Matthew Schussler

Default Programming for Firefighter Test

I have been doing Crossfit for about 4 years but am new to this forum. I've been training for the last 6 months for my Firefighter Test and am looking for advice on ramping up to a peak in 4-6 weeks. I scored a fast enough time on our 1st practice run to get 100% but would like to knock a little time off in case somthing goes wrong (like I trip). The test consists of a tower climb w/ HRP, hose drag, dummy drag, fan carry, and Keiser sled. All done in 50 lbs gear. Right now I'm running steps twice a week, sledge work once a week, and the rest focusing on strength and metcon work. I use either a 3/1/21 schedule or 2/1/2/2 with 2-a-days on Mon and Fri. Any help/advice is very much appreciated. I'm not used to training for a peak at a certain time. I have 1 more practice run in 2 1/2 wks and my final test will be one of the 1st 3 weeks in June.
Matthew Schussler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 06:47 PM   #2
Steven Low
Super Moderator

Program your stuff to simulate what the events are like more...

Other than that, you probably don't need much honestly. You already have 100% so if you don't overreach going into it then you'll be fine.

If you really want to taper then spread out about 2-4 rest days the week of the testing, with 2 right before the event.
Old 05-05-2010, 07:29 PM   #3
Garrett Smith

Take 2-3 days off before the test. You'll be fine. The test really only weeds out the really unfit folks anyway.
Garrett Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 03:35 AM   #4
James Evans

Of interest may be this vid of the Auckland Blues (Rugby Union) in pre-season:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVZNpYwtir0
Old 05-07-2010, 05:44 AM   #5
Matthew Schussler