Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 01-08-2011, 11:38 AM   #1
Cain Morano

Default 12 Week Technique Development Program from Greg Everett's book

Hello to everyone on the forum! I recently started Greg Everett’s 12 Week Technique Development Program out of the second edition of “Olympic Weightlifting”. I wanted a post specifically about this program. After this program I will get through the two strength and power programs, also in the book. I think it's cool that there is the recipe for the next 36 weeks.
Here’s my background – I have been CrossFitting for over eight months. I reached a point where I was strong enough to do the WODs at full weight – but my times are still long. In conjunction with the technique program done at a separate time of day, I have scaled the WODs to 50% weights and far less than 100% intensity of effort. I workout at an intensity which does not tax me to the point that I can’t recover from lifting, it’s like heavy cardio now. This was also to help get my times within smaller limits, but that is no longer the priority. My priority now is to add volume so I can get accustomed to more training and the later heavier training more regularly and also to work on technique. I am 35 and untrained until this year, so I need this.
I finished week one of the technique program. I performed all of the lifts with between 40% and 50% of 1RMs, which are real 1RMs tested within the last two months. I feel good and a little tired. I am excited to start week two, I’ve never completed a program this long before.

What are your thoughts and experiences with this program? It would be great to hear about your progress with this or any advice. Maybe Greg Everett has had some feedback on his program?

My first solid question to Greg is : What’s up with the rep schemes?
Cain Morano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 03:31 PM   #2
Greg Everett
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain Morano View Post