Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 02-12-2011, 04:27 PM   #1
Jason Bourgeois

Default Training Video

First post:

I'm an Olympic weightlifter and Law student living New Orleans and training without a coach.

I already posted this over at Coach Pendlay's forum, so if you have already seen it, please excuse me.

Any critique is welcome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q18pI9QmfOw

My Channel (I post weekly training videos)

http://www.youtube.com/user/gtg957w
Jason Bourgeois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 08:25 PM   #2
Matthew Fried

I will not be critiquing because I am a novice. However I am curious to read what some of the experienced lifters viewing this will post, because I watched your vid 3x and it looked better than "mediocre" to me.

I really like the way you reset your back extension & keep yourself tight all throughout the core during the complex drills & 3 position snatch. Nice job!

I also wish my gym had platforms

Good stuff JB!
Matthew Fried is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 03:58 PM   #3
Greg Everett
Administrator

RE snatch -

Work on getting your hips snapping through to the bar a bit more - they stop just short of where they should be going, and that's limiting the top speed of the second pull and the speed at which you can change direction and get under the bar. Think of driving the legs vertically and then hyperextending the hips slightly to open up behind the bar. Use the back to pull the bar back and up right into the crease of your hips - it's hitting on your thighs and dragging a bit. Keep it as close as possible, but try not to let it come into contact until it's right at the hips.