Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 10-09-2012, 08:59 PM   #1
Anthony Walling

Default Problems Changing Direction

I'm new to the lifts and live pretty remote so choaches are hard to come by. I have gotten some help fixing small issues, but I find myself yet again stuck. In both the CJ and the Snatch, I find my self hesitating at the top of the second pull. Which leads to me be being slow in changing directions/third pull and I usually end up missing the lift. I get extension just fine, I feel the weight "float" for second, but then my butt doesn't want to get back down under the bar. I believe it's a mental issue, but was wondering if there are exercises or movements I can do to over come it? Would starting from the hang or doing segmented lifts help?

I've done some research but couldn't find any posts on the subject. I have some books and DVDs but again nothing specifically talking about, unless I missed something.

I will try to take some videos of myself and post it later this week.
Anthony Walling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 03:09 AM   #2
Javier Sanjuan

Location: Originally from Queens, NY; live in Manhattan, KS (Army Captain)

Anthony,

Yes, there are.

First, have you had this issue before? Does this issue occur only when you start to reach a weight that you need to receive the bar in a full squat? On top of speed, it could also be a confidence issue. I speak from experience when I first started. These few exercises/drills should help: