Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 12-06-2013, 01:30 PM   #1
Rhys Davies

Default Can't Snatch Bad Clean

I have been doing strength training consistently for the past 10 years, and attempted to learn the Olympic lifts about 7 years ago but quickly gave up and went back to my normal workout exercises. However, I decided this summer I would re-start to learn the lifts and not stop until I was able to do them. There are no Olympic lifting gyms near me so I resorted to learn them via instructional DVD's. I ended up buying 2 DVD's, 1 by Coach Dos and another soon after, by Wil Flemming.

Although not loaded with information they seemed pretty good and both advocated learning the Clean first. After 4 months of training for 30min 4 times a week solely on the Clean, I was not able to get higher than a 1RM of 85kg, and with a body weight of 94kg this did not seem good at all. I then proceeded to buy Greg Everett's book, soon followed by the DVD and was blown away by the content and knowledge. I then filmed myself doing a Clean and it became apparent that I had poor technique and was ripping the barbell up with lots of technical issues (early arm bend, catching with body upright and back arched backwards). I have now reverted to a hang clean, which has stopped the early arm bend, but I am still catching the bar with my body upright and back arched backwards.