Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 01-04-2014, 07:04 AM   #1
jort Kramer

Default Simple Clean & Press program needed

Hi,

i'm a waterpolo players and i started lifting weights with some guys of my team. We got some strength and nice results but we got curious about the olympic lifts. I noticed that olympic lifters have strong legs, back and shoulders which are the 3 key muscle groups for waterpolo. Unfortunately we dont have the right gym to do snatches (no bumper plates and boxes) My question is: can someone help me with a 2 day/week Clean & Jerk program for in season. and a 3 day/week program for off season?

every little piece of help is appreciated

cheers!

Jort Kramer
jort Kramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 03:20 PM   #2
Greg Everett
Administrator

If you can't do the classic lifts (snatch/CJ), you can probably still get away with power cleans, power snatches and power jerks in whatever facility you're in. Something very simple would be:

Day 1
Power Clean + Power Jerk 5x2(1+1)
Clean Pull 5x3
Back squat 5x5

Day 2
Power Snatch 5x3
Snatch Pull 5x3
Front Squat 5x3

Start with weights that are relatively easy (as in you can do all reps well - not so easy it's a waste of time, though), and add weight each week as you can for 3-4 weeks at a time, then drop the weights 10-15% for a week, and start the process again higher than the last block started.

"Without a doubt the best book on the market about Olympic-style weightlifting." - Mike Burgener, USAW Senior International Coach

American Weightlifting: The Documentary
Catalyst Athletics
Performance Menu Journal
Greg Everett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 03:47 AM   #3
jort Kramer