Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Nutrition > Paleo Diet

Old 04-26-2007, 09:01 PM   #1
Kim Dowse

Default Stupid question...gelatin

I'm a bit new to the paleo eating. This may be really dumb question...is gelatin paleo?
Kim Dowse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 05:23 AM   #2
Steve Liberati

According to Wiki, "gelatin is a protein produced by partial hydrolysis of collagen extracted from connective tissues of animals such as the domesticated bovines, porcines and equines."

So, I would say no. The words "produced" and paleo usually don't belong together in a sentence.
100,000 generations of humans have been hunters and gatherers; 500 generations have been agriculturalists; ten have lived in the industrial age; and only one has been exposed to the world of computers.

Steve's Club
Crossfit Tribe
Steve Liberati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 07:01 AM   #3
Garrett Smith

What are you planning on using the gelatin for?

It is derived from an animal, so arguments could be made either way. My raw apple cider vinegar, EV olive oil, garlic, and ginger salad dressing isn't technically paleo (even though it is derived from paleo-friendly sources, fruit & spices), but I doubt you'll find many people telling me I "shouldn't" have it.
Garrett Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 04:30 PM   #4
Kim Dowse

[QUOTE=Garrett Smith;10192]What are you planning on using the gelatin for?

My daily food choices can get a bit boring and monotonous. I rarely do a lot of sweets, but thought I could use the gelatin and experiment with paleo-type desserts. Sugar can throw me into an eating frenzy (not good....previous ED), so I try to stay away from desserts.