Home   |   Contact   |   Help   |   Mobile
olympic weightlifting, weightlifting, snatch, clean, jerk
CATALYST ATHLETICS TRAINING CYCLE

Jessica's Complex & Competition
12 weeks

This is a 12-week program with a lot of complexes in the first 8 weeks, and a competition taper in the last 4 weeks. Pulling strength is emphasized, but squat strength and overhead strength are not forgotten. The volume is high, so be prepared before you start it.


Export Cycle as Word Doc




Monday March 24 2014
Comments (16)

  • Clean + Front Squat + Jerk - 75% x (1+1+1) x 5
  • Snatch Deadlift + High-Hang Snatch + Snatch - 70% x (1+1+1) x 5
  • Halting Clean Deadlift (upper thigh) + Finish - 100%x3x5
  • Back Squat - 75%x6, 80%x1,  75%x6, 83%x1, 75%x6, 85%x1
Week 1 of 12
Tuesday March 25 2014
Comments (4)

  • Snatch Deadlift + Snatch - 70% x (2+1) x 5
  • Power Clean + Front Squat + Push Jerk - 80% x (1+1+1) x 5
  • OHS - 80%x2x5
  • Snatch Push Press - 70%x5x5
3 sets; no rest:
15 KB Swings
15 V-Ups

Wednesday March 26 2014
Comments (9)

  • Snatch - 75%x2x5
  • Clean Deadlift + High-Hang Clean + Clean - 70% x (1+1+1) x 5
  • Halting Snatch Deadlift + Finish - 100%x3x5
  • Front Squat - 75%x3, 80%x1, 75%x3, 83%x1, 75%x3, 85%x1
  • Muscle Snatch - 5x3 (medium weight)
Thursday March 27 2014
Comments (12)

  • Front Squat + Jerk - 80% x (2+1) x 5
  • Snatch High-Pull + Hang Snatch - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • Power Clean - 75%x2x5
  • Jump Squat - 80%x3x5
3 sets; no rest:
12 DB Press
12 DB Bent Row
Friday March 28 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday March 29 2014
Comments (6)

  • Snatch - 70%x2, 75%x2, 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 80%x2x3 (% of HS)
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x (2+1), 75% x (2+1), 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 80% x (2+1) x 3 (% of HS)
  • Back Squat - 78%x4, 83%x1, 78%x4, 86%x1, 78%x4, 88%x1
  • Push Press - 70%x5x5
Sunday March 30 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday March 31 2014
Comments (7)

  • Clean + Front Squat + Jerk - 75% x (1+1+1) x 2, 80% x (1+1+1) x 3
  • Snatch Deadlift + High-Hang Snatch + Snatch - 70% x (1+1+1) x 2, 75% x (1+1+1) x 3
  • Halting Clean Deadlift (upper thigh) + Finish - 100%x3x2, 103%x3x3
  • Back Squat - 78%x6, 83%x1,  78%x6, 86%x1, 78%x6, 88%x1
Week 2 of 12
Tuesday April 1 2014
Comments (5)

  • Snatch Deadlift + Snatch - 70% x (2+1) x 2, 75% x (2+1) x 3
  • Power Clean + Front Squat + Push Jerk - 80% x (1+1+1) x 2, 85% x (1+1+1) x 3
  • OHS - 80%x2x2, 85%x2x3
  • Snatch Push Press - 70%x5x2, 75%x5x3
3 sets; no rest:
15 KB Swings
15  Sit Ups
Wednesday April 2 2014
Comments (5)

  • Snatch - 75%x2x2, 80%x2x3
  • Clean Deadlift + High-Hang Clean + Clean - 70% x (1+1+1) x 2, 75% x (1+1+1) x 3
  • Halting Snatch Deadlift + Finish - 100%x3x2, 103%x3x3
  • Front Squat - 78%x3, 83%x1, 78%x3, 86%x1, 78%x3, 89%x1
  • Muscle Snatch - 5x3 (medium weight)
Thursday April 3 2014
Comments (0)

  • Front Squat + Jerk - 80% x (2+1) x 2, 85% x (2+1) x 3
  • Snatch High-Pull + Hang Snatch - 70% x (1+1) x 2, 75% x (1+1) x 3
  • Power Clean - 75%x2x2, 80%x2x3
  • Jump Squat - 80%x3x2, 85%x2x3
3 sets; no rest:
15 DB Push Press
15 DB Bent Row
Friday April 4 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday April 5 2014
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - 70%x2, 75%x2, 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 85%x2x3 (% of HS)
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x (2+1), 75% x (2+1), 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 85% x (2+1) x 3 (% of HS)
  • Back Squat - 81%x4, 86%x1, 81%x4, 89%x1, 81%x4, 91%x1
  • Push Press - 70%x5x2, 75%x5x3
Sunday April 6 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday April 7 2014
Comments (8)

  • Clean + Front Squat + Jerk - 3RM
  • Snatch Deadlift + High-Hang Snatch + Snatch - 75% x (1+1+1) x 5
  • Halting Clean Deadlift (upper thigh) + Finish - 103%x3x5
  • Back Squat - 80%x6, 85%x1,  80%x6, 88%x1, 80%x6, 90%x1
Week 3 of 12
Tuesday April 8 2014
Comments (5)

  • Snatch Deadlift + Snatch - 75% x (2+1) x 5
  • Power Clean + Front Squat + Push Jerk - 3RM
  • OHS - 3RM
  • Snatch Push Press - 75%x5x5
3 sets; no rest:
10 KB Swings
10 Reverse Crunches
Wednesday April 9 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 2RM
  • Clean Deadlift + High-Hang Clean + Clean - 75% x (1+1+1) x 5
  • Halting Snatch Deadlift + Finish - 103%x3x5
  • Front Squat - 80%x3, 85%x1, 80%x3, 88%x1, 80%x3, 91%x1
  • Muscle Snatch - 5x3 (medium weight)
Thursday April 10 2014
Comments (2)

  • Front Squat + Jerk - (2+1) RM
  • Snatch High-Pull + Hang Snatch - 75% x (1+1) x 5
  • Power Clean - 2RM
  • Jump Squat - 85%x2x5
3 sets; no rest:
10 DB Press
10 DB Bent Row
Friday April 11 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday April 12 2014
Comments (6)

  • Snatch - 70%x2, 75%x2, 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 90%x2x2 (% of HS)
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x (2+1), 75% x (2+1), 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 90% x (2+1) x 2 (% of HS)
  • Back Squat - 83%x4, 88%x1, 83%x4, 91%x1, 83%x4, 93%x1
  • Push Press - 75%x5x5
Sunday April 13 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday April 14 2014
Comments (0)

  • Clean & Jerk - 75%x1x5
  • Snatch Deadlift + High-Hang Snatch - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • Clean Deadlift - 95%x3x3
  • Back Squat - 75%x4x3
Week 4 of 12
Tuesday April 15 2014
Comments (3)

  • Snatch Deadlift + Snatch - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • Power Clean + Push Jerk - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • OHS - 70%x1x3
3 sets; no rest:
15 Back Extensions
15 Sit Ups
Wednesday April 16 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 75%x1x5
  • Clean Deadlift + High-Hang Clean - 70%x1x5
  • Snatch Deadlift - 95%x3x3
  • Front Squat - 75%x3x3
Thursday April 17 2014
Comments (2)

  • Front Squat + Jerk - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • Snatch High-Pull + Hang Snatch - 70%x2x5
  • Power Snatch - 70%x1x5
3 sets; no rest:
12 DB Thruster
12 KB Swing
Friday April 18 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday April 19 2014
Comments (2)

  • Snatch - 70%x1, 75%x1, 80%x1, 85%x1
  • Clean & Jerk - 70%x1, 75%x1, 80%x1, 85%x1
  • Back Squat - 80%x3x3
Sunday April 20 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday April 21 2014
Comments (0)

  • Clean & Jerk - 80% x (2+1) x 5
  • High-Hang Snatch + Snatch - 75% x (1+1) x 5
  • Clean Deadlift - 110%x3x3
  • Back Squat - 78%x4, 83%x1, 78%x4, 86%x1, 78%x4, 88%x1
Week 5 of 12
Tuesday April 22 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch Deadlift + Snatch - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • Power Clean + Push Jerk - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • OHS - 90%x1x5
  • Snatch Push Press - 75%x5x2, 80%x3x3
3 sets; no rest:
15 KB Swings
15 V-Ups
Wednesday April 23 2014
Comments (2)

  • Snatch - 80%x2x5
  • High-Hang Clean + Clean - 75% x (1+1) x 5
  • Snatch Deadlift - 110%x3x5
  • Front Squat - 80%x3, 85%x1, 80%x3, 88%x1,  80%x3, 90%x1
  • Muscle Snatch - 5x3
Thursday April 24 2014
Comments (7)

  • Front Squat + Jerk - 85% x (1+1) x 5
  • Snatch High-Pull + Hang Snatch - 75% x (1+1) x 5
  • Power Clean - 80% x 2 x 5
3 sets; no rest:
12 DB Push Press
12 Pull Ups
Friday April 25 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday April 26 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 70%x2, 75%x2, 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 90%x1x3
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x (2+1), 75% x (2+1), 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 90%x1x3
  • Back Squat - 80%x3, 85%x1, 80%x3, 88%x1, 80%x3, 90%x1
  • Push Press - 75%x5x2, 80%x3x3
Sunday April 27 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday April 28 2014
Comments (0)

  • Clean & Jerk - 80% x (2+1) x 2, 85% x (2+1) x 3
  • High-Hang Snatch + Snatch - 75% x (1+1) x 2, 80% x (1+1) x 3
  • Clean Deadlift - 110%x3x2, 115%x3x3
  • Back Squat - 81%x4, 86%x1, 81%x4, 89%x1, 81%x4, 91%x1
Week 6 of 12
Tuesday April 29 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch Deadlift + Snatch - 70% x (1+1) x 2, 75% x (1+1) x 3
  • Power Clean + Push Jerk - 80% x (1+1) x 2, 85% x (1+1) x 3
  • OHS - 90%x1x5
  • Snatch Push Press - 80%x3x5
3 sets; no rest:
15 Back Extensions
15 Sit Ups
Wednesday April 30 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 80%x2x2, 85%x2x3
  • High-Hang Clean + Clean - 75% x (1+1) x 2, 80% x (1+1) x 3
  • Snatch Deadlift - 110%x3x2, 115%x3x3
  • Front Squat - 83%x3, 88%x1, 83%x3, 91%x1,  83%x3, 93%x1
  • Muscle Snatch - 5x3
Thursday May 1 2014
Comments (0)

  • Front Squat + Jerk - 85% x (1+1) x 2, 90% x (1+1) x 3
  • Snatch High-Pull + Hang Snatch - 75% x (1+1) x 2, 80% x (1+1) x 3
  • Power Clean - 80% x 2 x 2, 85% x 2 x 3
  • Jump Squat - 85%x2x2, 88%x2x3
3 sets; no rest:
10 DB Press
10 Pull Ups
Friday May 2 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday May 3 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 70%x2, 75%x2, 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 90%x1x3
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x (2+1), 75% x (2+1), 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 90%x1x3
  • Back Squat - 80%x3, 85%x1, 80%x3, 88%x1, 80%x3, 90%x1
  • Push Press - 80%x3x5
Sunday May 4 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday May 5 2014
Comments (2)

  • Clean & Jerk - 3RM (2+1)
  • High-Hang Snatch + Snatch - 80% x (1+1) x 5
  • Clean Deadlift - 115%x3x5
  • Back Squat - 83%x4, 88%x1, 83%x4, 91%x1, 83%x4, 93%x1
Week 7 of 12
Tuesday May 6 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch Deadlift + Snatch - 75% x (1+1) x 5
  • Power Clean + Push Jerk - 85% x (1+1) x 5
  • OHS - 1RM
  • Snatch Push Press - 80%x3x2, 83%x3x3
3 sets; no rest:
15 Back Extensions
15 Reverse Crunches
Wednesday May 7 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 2RM
  • High-Hang Clean + Clean - 80% x (1+1) x 5
  • Snatch Deadlift - 115%x3x5
  • Front Squat - 85%x3, 90%x1, 85%x3, 93%x1,  85%x3, 95%x1
  • Muscle Snatch - 5x3
Thursday May 8 2014
Comments (6)

  • Front Squat + Jerk - 2RM (1+1)
  • Snatch High-Pull + Hang Snatch - 80% x (1+1) x 5
  • Power Clean - 2RM
  • Jump Squat - 88%x2x5
3 sets; no rest:
8 DB Press
8 Pull Ups
Friday May 9 2014
Comments (3)

Rest Day
Saturday May 10 2014
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - 70%x2, 75%x2, 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 90%x1, 95%x1
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x (2+1), 75% x (2+1), 80%x1, 85%x1, HS; 90%x1, 95%x1
  • Back Squat - 82%x3, 87%x1, 82%x3, 90%x1, 82%x3, 92%x1
  • Push Press - 80%x3x2, 83%x3x3
Sunday May 11 2014
Comments (3)

Rest Day
Monday May 12 2014
Comments (0)

  • Clean & Jerk - 75%x1x5
  • Snatch Deadlift + High-Hang Snatch - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • Clean Deadlift - 95%x3x3
  • Back Squat - 75%x4x3
Week 8 of 12
Tuesday May 13 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch Deadlift + Snatch - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • Power Clean + Push Jerk - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • OHS - 70%x1x3
3 sets; no rest:
15 Back Extensions
15 Sit Ups
Wednesday May 14 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 75%x1x5
  • Clean Deadlift + High-Hang Clean - 70%x1x5
  • Snatch Deadlift - 95%x3x3
  • Front Squat - 75%x3x3
Thursday May 15 2014
Comments (3)

  • Front Squat + Jerk - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • Snatch High-Pull + Hang Snatch - 70% x (1+1) x 5
  • Power Snatch - 70%x1x5
3 sets; no rest:
12 DB Push Press
12 Pull Ups
Friday May 16 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday May 17 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 70%x1, 75%x1, 80%x1, 85%x1
  • Clean & Jerk - 70%x1, 75%x1, 80%x1, 85%x1
  • Back Squat - 80%x3x3
Sunday May 18 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday May 19 2014
Comments (8)

  • Snatch - HS; 70%x2x3
  • Clean & Jerk - HS; 70% x (2+1) x 3
  • Front Squat - HS; 75%x3x2
Week 9 of 12
Tuesday May 20 2014
Comments (0)

  • Hang Snatch - 70%x1x10
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 70% x (1+1) x 10
  • Snatch Pull - 85%x2x3
3 sets; no rest:
20 1-arm KB Swings
12 V-Ups
Wednesday May 21 2014
Comments (3)

  • Clean & Jerk - HS; 70% x (2+1) x 3
  • Snatch - HS; 70%x2x3
  • Pause Back Squat - 70%x3x3
Thursday May 22 2014
Comments (0)

  • Hang Snatch - 70%x1x10
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 70% x (1+1) x 10
  • Clean Pull - 85%x2x3
3 sets; no rest:
12 DB Thruster
12 Pull Ups
Friday May 23 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday May 24 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - HS
  • Clean & Jerk - HS
  • Front Squat - HS; 80%x2x2
Sunday May 25 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday May 26 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - HS; 75%x1x5
  • Clean & Jerk - HS; 75% x (1+1) x 5
  • Front Squat - HS; 80%x2x2
Week 10 of 12
Tuesday May 27 2014
Comments (2)

  • Hang Snatch - 75%x1x10
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 75% x (1+1) x 10
  • Snatch Pull - 90%x2x3
3 sets; no rest:
15 KB Swings
10 Sit Ups
Wednesday May 28 2014
Comments (2)

  • Clean & Jerk - HS; 75% x (1+1) x 5
  • Snatch - HS; 75%x1x5
  • Pause Back Squat - 70%x3, 75%x3x2
Thursday May 29 2014
Comments (7)

  • Hang Snatch - 75%x1x10
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 75% x (1+1) x 10
  • Clean Pull - 90%x2x3
3 sets; no rest:
12 DB Push Press
12 Pull Ups
Friday May 30 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday May 31 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - HS; 75%x1x5
  • Clean & Jerk - HS; 75% x (1+1) x 5
  • Front Squat - HS; 85%x2x2
Sunday June 1 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday June 2 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - HS; 80%x1x3
  • Clean & Jerk - HS; 80% x (1+1) x 3
  • Front Squat - HS; 85%x2x2
Week 11 of 12
Tuesday June 3 2014
Comments (3)

  • Hang Snatch - 75%x1x10
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 75% x (1+1) x 10
  • Snatch Pull - 80%x2, 85%x2, 90%x2
3 sets; no rest:
12 Back Extensions
10 Reverse Crunches
Wednesday June 4 2014
Comments (4)

  • Clean & Jerk - HS; 80% x (1+1) x 3
  • Snatch - HS; 80%x1x3
  • Pause Back Squat - 75%x3x3
Thursday June 5 2014
Comments (0)

  • Hang Snatch - 75%x1x10
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 75% x (1+1) x 10
  • Clean Pull - 80%x2, 85%x2, 90%x2
3 sets; no rest:
10 DB Press
10 Pull Ups
Friday June 6 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday June 7 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - HS; 80%x1x3
  • Clean & Jerk - HS; 80% x (1+1) x 3
  • Front Squat - HS; 85%x2x2
Sunday June 8 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday June 9 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 80%x1, 85%x1, 90%x1, 85%x1x2
  • Clean & Jerk - 80%x1, 85%x1, 90%x1
  • Clean Pull - 85%x2x2
  • Back Squat - 80%x2, 85%x2x2
Week 12 of 12
Tuesday June 10 2014
Comments (0)

  • Hang Snatch - 75%x1x6
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 75% x (1+1) x 6
3 sets; no rest:
10 Back Extensions
10 Sit Ups
Wednesday June 11 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 80%x1, 85%x1x3
  • Clean & Jerk - 80%x1, 85%x1
  • Snatch Pull - 80%x2x2
  • Front Squat - 75%x2, 80%x1, 85%x1
Thursday June 12 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 70%x1x5
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 70% x (1+1) x 5
3 sets; no rest:
10 DB Press
10 2-arm DB Bent Row
Friday June 13 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday June 14 2014
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - MAX!
  • Clean & Jerk - MAX!
  • Front Squat - MAX!
Sunday June 15 2014
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Get Our Newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.


Search Workouts

Workouts Menu

Training Home
Program Help
Tomorrow's Workout
Exercise Demos
Training Cycles
Text Only
Starter Program
Training Cycles

View Training by Date

Get Our Newsletter





Funny Crossfit Shirts
The largest variety of funny crossfit shirts for guys and girls.

Advertise With Us
Subscribe to the Performance Menu Magazine
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get training tips and Catalyst news AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.

ASK GREG

Submit your question to be answered by Greg Everett in the Performance Menu or on the website

Submit Your Question
WEIGHTLIFTING TEAM

Catalyst Athletics is a USA Weightlifting team of competitive Olympic-style weightlifters with multiple national team medals.

Read More
Olympic Weightlifting For Sports Book
Catalyst Athletics
Contact Us
About
Help
Newsletter
Products & Services
Gym
Store
Seminars
Weightlifting Team
Performance Menu
Magazine Home
Subscriber Login
Issues
Articles
Workouts
About the Program
Workout Archives
Exercise Demos
Text Only
Instructional Content
Exercise Demos
Video Gallery
Free Articles
Free Recipes
Resources
Recommended Books & DVDs
Olympic Weightlifting Guide
Discussion Forum
Weight Conversion Calculator