Catalyst Athletics Forums

Catalyst Athletics Forums (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Nutrition (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   How often do you eat for a 5 hour feed window? (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1808)

Derek Weaver 11-17-2007 02:55 PM

How often do you eat for a 5 hour feed window?

Hi,
I'm fairly new to IF, but really enjoy it. I have worked my way up to a 19 hour fast with a 5 hour feed, but I'm not sure how often I should eat during that 5 hours. I'm 5'6", 155 lbs. +/- 10%bf and am taking in about 1gram of protein/ lb. of lean mass (minimum 130 gr./day). Do you all spread out the food intake?

I typically like to break my fast with something like a spinach salad with 4-6 oz. of chicken and go from there. However, depending on schedule sometimes I will break the fast with a shake comprised of whey protein, 1.5 cups of mixed frozen berries and a handful of almonds on the side.

I am probably somewhere are 85% paleo with my food choices (whey being the most obvious non-paleo choice).

As for activity, I follow either the PM WOD, or CF or something along the lines as well as boxing 3x/week on average, sometimes more.

Any suggestions on frequency of eating and whether or not I'm getting enough food would be appreciated. by the way, I am for about 2400 cals/day

Troy Archie 11-17-2007 04:13 PM

I usually have 1-2 meals depending if I train or not. If I do only have one meal I usually end up pecking away at something like nuts or a lettuce wrap.

Chris Forbis 11-17-2007 05:40 PM

Some days I will do only one meal. On those, I break the fast with a 1/4 cup of almonds, 1 tbsp of ACV in 8 oz. of water 15 minutes later, and a big, fatty meal 15 min. after that. If I try to break the fast straight-off with the fatty meal I have, um... gastrointestinal issues.