Catalyst Athletics Forums

Catalyst Athletics Forums (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Paleo Diet (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Gaining Fat? (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4865)

Leslie Jennings 11-28-2009 07:57 PM

Gaining Fat?

Hello All!

I started eating paleo about 5 weeks ago and I am really enjoying it. However, my body fat seems to have slowly increased...when I started I was at 16% and I could see a 4-pack in the morning. Now I am up to 18% and the 4-pack is no longer visible...just the top two. Just a little background:

I started on the zone diet two years ago and had great success. I dropped 10lbs and my BF went down 4%. Sweet.

About 4 months ago I started training harder...I competed in several sprint triathlons, began boxing again and upped my weightlifting. The zone was simply not allowing me to eat enough calories (between 1000 and 1200 a day). I did a lot of research and starting slowly going paleo, but I have been full on the past 5 weeks. I really like the diet, but am not enjoying the extra fat. I would appreciate any advice.

Stats:
Height: 5'4
Weight: 125
Current BF: 18%

Typical Day:

B:
coffee w/ a little coconut milk
4oz chicken breast cooked w/salsa
1 cup sauteed cabbage
1 tbsp flax oil

Or

3 eggs sauteed w/spinach, peppers, onions, mushrooms, salsa, 1/2 avocado

L:
Large spinach salad w/4oz meat (usually chicken or pot roast), 1/2 cup each tomatoes and bell peppers, 1tbsp flax oil and 2 tbsp sunflower seeds
1 cup artichoke hearts sauteed w/1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes

Or

Leftovers

S:
1oz beef jerkyd
1 small apple
1 oz almonds

Post workout Snack (sometimes):
1/2 scoop unflavored whey protein powder
1/4 cup coconut milk
1/2 cup strawberries
water

D:
Crockpot beef; sauteed brussels sprouts
Or
Meatloaf (made w/ground beef, carrots, onions, flax meal and seasonings) w/roasted eggplant