Catalyst Athletics Forums

Catalyst Athletics Forums (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Other (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Phase II (http://www.catalystathletics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4882)

Jeff Bonn 12-04-2009 05:43 PM

Phase II

About 2 years ago I stumbled upon Crossfit, related to a search for the "300" workout. While I didn't start actually training in any serious way until about 6 months ago, I was quickly hooked, and it wasn't the endorphins.

I am an engineer by training, of the mechanical type, and I am the stereotypical skeptic. What I saw in Glassman's early writings with regard to scientific method and thoughtful and open approach to the improvement of human performance really stuck with me.

So after much hand wringing (about 18 months worth) I decided to shell out the huge expense of a membership to my local affiliate. My second workout sent me to the hospital with a mild case of Rhabdo (a lot of jumping pull-ups). Two weeks later I was back at it and after 4 months of regular training I was in better shape than I'd been in years. My Fran may be 20:48, but I can kick out 10 kipping pullups in a row and a 44" box jump. That my fitness has improved of course is little surprise. Go from doing very little to quite a bit and you'll get something out of it.