Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Nutrition > General Nutrition

Old 11-26-2008, 07:30 AM   #1
Jake Dent

Default IF + Hybrid training and modest mass gain

Hey everyone, wasn't sure which category this fits in since it's IF and workout related....so sorry if I put it in the wrong place!
I've been reading here looking at the hybrid system and I think I'm going to give it a shot, although I'm new at doing my own programing.
Up till now, I've been doing strict XFit, and have been very happy. I eat as clean as possible considering I'm in Iraq and I IF on training days (3/1).
I'm 5'9" 169 and I'd guess 10% BF. I'm looking to gain maybe 10 pounds in lean mass.
My plan is to fast for 16-18 hours and workout towards the end. I've been doing it for maybe 2 months now and lost an easy 5# in fat and set lots of PRs (been Xfitting for almost a year).
Now, with the Hybrid training I'll be doing a couple heavy lifts, then a short heavy metcon then maybe some rings or a few sprints.

I really really like working out fasted, but with the heavier focus, is this a good idea? So far I have not been injury prone, recovery is fine, no muscle loss just fat.
I calculate on fitday that I eat about 2500-2800 calories, 250g protein- 137g fat and 121 g carbs for a 39/45/17 split (yes, all in a 6 hour window). This is after upping my protein intake just a little to try to gain a little lean mass.
Is this too much? Am I on the right track to gaining a little mass without the fat gain as well?
Thanks for any advice, like I said I'm new to doing my own programming so anything will help.
Jake Dent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 10:08 AM   #2
Steven Low
Super Moderator

Working out while fasted is fine.

I'm impressived you're getting that much protein in and not gaining weight though, heh. You might need more kcals though 2.5-2.8k isn't THAT much for someone at your weight though.

What are your lift numbers?
Old 11-26-2008, 10:27 AM   #3
Jake Dent

Boy, it feels like a lot