Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Training Logs

Old 08-03-2009, 01:09 PM   #1
Nick Hunter

Default Return to Athleticism

Nick Hunter's New Journal of Progress

Stats as of August 03, 2009
Height: 5'11"
Weight: 205 lbs
Training for: Rugby Union

Best Lifts (no longer current)
Deadlift: 500 lbs
Parallel Squat: 405 lbs
Push Press: 240 lbs
Power Clean: 265 lbs
Power Snatch: 205lbs

Roadblocks Corrections
ACL Tear (July 25, 2009) Pending Surgery
Meniscus Tear (July 25, 2009) Pending Surgery
Ankle Imingement (recent) Hopefully Not Surgery

Problem Areas Corrections
Post Surgery Shoulder (Labrum/AC Joint)* Avoid Benching
Weak Abdominal Strength Planks/ Ab Rollouts
Overstretched/Weak Upper Back Band Facepulls
Extremely Poor Dorsiflexion Will See PT

I started playing rugby at age 20 in college, with no athletic development knowledge and poor posture from a high school career of video gaming. I took a beating my first semester and decided to learn how to lift weights, going from 181 to 215 lbs in 9 months, progressing to the above lifts in that time as well.

I played and trained at a reasonably high level in Metro Division 2 in Canterbury, New Zealand, where I was also reintroduced to the Olympic lifts through a former Commonwealth Games competitor. I realized I loved playing rugby but was getting hurt too much, however I found it hard to fix some things and compensated with movement patterns instead. That's landed me with a knee surgery coming up and heaps of time to rehabilitate, learn as much as I can, and come back stronger.

2 year goals:
Properly and thoroughly address biomechanics, specifically knees and ankles.
Develop safe and proper deep squat form.
Build balanced and strong body with which to re-enter competitive sport.

6 year goal: